YHC Students and Faculty Inducted Into Mu Phi Epsilon Music Fraternity

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Media Contact: Krystin Dean
(706) 379-5310, kndean@yhc.edu

Young Harris College Students and Faculty Inducted Into Mu Phi Epsilon Music Fraternity
Inaugural Zeta Kappa Chapter Installed at Young Harris College

YOUNG HARRIS, Ga. – Nine Young Harris College students and two faculty members were recently inducted as charter members of the Zeta Kappa chapter of the international professional music fraternity Mu Phi Epsilon during a special ceremony held in the Charles R. Clegg Fine Arts Building on the Young Harris College campus.

The purposes of Mu Phi Epsilon are the recognition of scholarship and musicianship and the promotion of friendship. The fraternity’s primary aims include the advancement of music throughout the world, the promotion of musicianship and scholarship, loyalty to the alma mater and the development of a true bond of friendship. The fraternity is composed of collegiate chapters, alumni chapters and allied members. Since its beginning in 1903, Mu Phi Epsilon has installed more than 210 chapters.

Election to membership in Mu Phi Epsilon is based upon scholarship, musicianship and character. Undergraduates must be enrolled as music majors or minors and have attained at least second-term freshman standing with a minimum grade point average of 3.0 in music subjects and 2.0 in academic subjects.

The new student members are sophomore Melissa Murphy of Blairsville, Ga., freshman Catlin Davis of Baxley, Ga., senior Tara Shiver of Covington, Ga., sophomore JeRee Dukes of Agnes, Ga., freshman Heather Poole of Young Harris, Ga., junior Paige Jenkins of Dallas, Ga., senior Raquel Jasso of Gainesville, Ga., freshman Shelby Brown of Calhoun, Ga., and freshman Cody Killian of Murphy. N.C. The new faculty members are Instructor of Music Richard Knepp and Associate Professor of Music, Music Department Chair and Musical Theatre Department Co-coordinator Edwin Sandy Calloway, Ph.D.

The inauguration ceremony was officiated by Mu Phi Epsilon International President Fran Irwin and YHC Adjunct Instructor of Music and Staff Accompanist Cynthia DeFoor, a long-time member of Mu Phi Epsilon who also serves as the chapter’s faculty advisor. The closed ceremony was followed by a recital and reception for friends and families of the inductees.

About Young Harris College
2011 marks the 125th anniversary for Young Harris College, a private, baccalaureate degree-granting college located in the beautiful mountains of north Georgia. Founded in 1886 and historically affiliated with The United Methodist Church, Young Harris College educates, inspires and empowers students through the highest quality liberal arts education. Long known for nurturing students during the first two years of college, Young Harris College received accreditation in 2008 to grant bachelor’s degrees. The College currently has approximately 800 students across four divisions—Fine Arts, Humanities, Mathematics and Science, and Social and Behavioral Science—and plans to increase enrollment to 1,200 over the next few years. The historic campus in Young Harris, Ga., is currently undergoing major campus improvements to accommodate the College’s growth, including recent completion of a 200-bed, LEED Silver-certified residence hall, Georgia’s first higher education facility north of Atlanta to achieve this certification, and a 57,000-square-foot, LEED-certified recreation center, the second higher educational recreation facility in Georgia to achieve this certification. For more information, visit www.yhc.edu.