Skip to content

Media Contact: Maddy Elledge
(706) 379-5319, [email protected]

Young Harris College Recognizes Students, Faculty and Staff at 2018 Honors Ceremony

YOUNG HARRIS, Ga. – Young Harris College hosted the 2018 Honors Ceremony on April 22 in Glenn~McGinnis Hall on the YHC campus. Many faculty, staff and students were recognized for their achievements during the annual ceremony.

Zell B. Miller Leadership Award
Jada Williams

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award
Kenneth Boykin

Mary Mildred Sullivan Award
Maddie Barnes

Young Harris College Spirit Award
Laura Gregory
Michael Livingston

The Vulcan Award for Teaching Excellence
Dr. Eloise Whisenhunt

The Outstanding Professor Award
Ted Whisenhunt

Luke Rushton, ’42, Scholar Athlete Award
Brianna Bell

Outstanding Junior Scholar Athlete Award
Kaylee McCleskey

Outstanding Sophomore Athlete Award
Hannah Walker

Outstanding Freshman Scholar Athlete Award
John Lichtenwalner

Honors Program Graduate Recognition
Maddie Barnes
Nathan Barnes
Brianna Bell
Morgan Bilicki
Taylor Bilicki
Reece Brooks
Katherine Eitel
Lauren James
Samantha Jones
Matthew Ledon
Lohan Lizin
Monica Ramirez-Leon
Kaila Reece
Emily Royal
Maggie Sproston
Kristen Thigpen
Meghan Tonneson
Allie Weldon
Austin Blake Wilson
Cassandra Zimmerman

Excellence in Foundational Studies Award
Hayden Betsill

Outstanding Early Childhood Teacher Candidate Award
Kaylee Parker

Outstanding Middle Grades Teacher Candidate Award
Kaila Reece

Richard Aunspaugh Award for Visual Art
Cayla Highfield

Birdie Bryan Miller Art Award
Mark Williford

Lynn Fowler Music Scholarship
Hayden Betsill

Edwin Gerschefski Piano Scholarship
Caitlin Moore

William H. & Mary Ann Fox Music Scholarship
Kanani Crandall

Pro Musica Camerta Scholarship 
Kevin Rains

CNAfME Award
Zachary Sutton

Ronnie Milsap, ’64, Music Scholarship
Moon Hamilton
Shane Schroeder

Outstanding Company Member: Theatre Performance Award
Bakari Garvin

Outstanding Company Member: Design & Technology Award
Savannah Williams

Outstanding Company Member: Musical Theatre Award
Kristin Talley

William Bryon King, ’35, Award in English
Kristen Brown

Outstanding Paper: Upper-Division English Course
Taylor Bilicki

Outstanding Junior English Award
Alejandro Lemus-Gomez

Outstanding Senior English Award
Taylor Bilicki

Outstanding Senior in Creative Writing
Morgan Bilicki
Courtney Esco

Outstanding Junior in Creative Writing
Lewis Crawford

Donna T. Fortune Achievement Award in Foreign Language
Brianna Bell
Mollie Wilfong

Lambda Pi Eta Outstanding Scholar Award
Allison Weldon

Rhetorica Tutor Award
Amanda Claxton

John Cobb, Jr. Award for an Outstanding Paper
Samuel Arbour
Destiny Sims
Erin Tozier

The John Kay Award for Excellence in Comparative Religious Studies
Joseph DeFrank
Erin Fincannon

Outstanding Biology Senior Academic Award
Gabrielle Coumes

Outstanding Biology Senior Research Award
Sarah Gossett
Yazmin Ramos
Arielle Charles
Rachel Lepine

Erasmus Grier Fowler Mathematics Award
Reece Brooks

Freshman Mathematics Award
Brooke Roland

Joseph Wilson Boone, ’31, History Award
Michael Livingston

Outstanding Graduate in Business and Public Policy
Brianna Bell

Paul D. Coverdell Award
Brianna Bell

Hilda McCurdy Memorial Scholarship
Callie Trundle

Ezra Sellers Award
Dr. Joseph Pate

SPAT Scholarship Award
Sam Flagg

SGA Awards
Faculty Award – Dr. Charlie Swor
Staff Award – Rusty Royston

College Representative of the Year Award
Kristin Thigpen

S.T.A.R. of the Year Award
Maggie Frick

Greek Service Awards
Fraternity – Kappa Sigma
Sorority – Phi Alpha Phi

Greek Academic Awards
Fraternity – Alpha Omega
Sorority – Phi Alpha Phi

Advisor of the Year Award
Stan Anderson

CAB Member of the Year Award
Michael Folsom

Outstanding Organization of the Year Award
Fly Fishing Club

Religious Life Senior Award
Emily Todd

Christian Service Award
Allie Weldon
Austin Tibbetts

Interfaith Award
Courtney Huskins
Xavier Jacobs

IRC Appreciation Award
Dr. Eric Dickman

Corn Creek Review: Literary Awards
First Place Prose/Drama – Courtney Esco
Second Place Prose – Melissa Powell
Third Place Prose – Natalee Diehl
First Place Poetry – Alejandro Lemus-Gomez
Second Place Poetry – Paxton Spessard
First Place in Art – Samuel Pham

Enotah Yearbook Pacesetter
Morgan Bilicki
Jose Rodriguez
Austin Watson
Anna Dyer
Mary Slavkin
Thomas Cook
Stan Anderson
Joseph Pate

Enotah Yearbook Dedication
Tonya Nix

To view photos for the 2018 Honors Ceremony, click here. 

About Young Harris College
Young Harris College is a private, baccalaureate degree-granting college located in the beautiful mountains of North Georgia. Founded in 1886 and historically affiliated with The United Methodist Church, Young Harris College educates, inspires and empowers students through the highest quality liberal arts education. The College currently has more than 1,100 students across five divisions—Education, Fine Arts, Humanities, Mathematics and Science, and Social and Behavioral Sciences. The historic campus in Young Harris, Ga., has completed major campus improvements to accommodate the College’s growth. Recent LEED-certified campus improvements include the 121,000-square-foot Rollins Campus Center, new residence facilities, and a 57,000-square-foot recreation and fitness center. The College is an active member of NCAA Division II and remains a fierce competitor in the prestigious Peach Belt Conference. YHC is among fewer than 300 colleges and universities nationwide named to the 2017-2018 list of Colleges of Distinction and is listed as a “Best National Liberal Arts College” by U.S. News & World Report. For more information, visit