Skip to content

YOUNG HARRIS, Ga. — On Tuesday, November 29, Young Harris College was notified that Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) was approving the College’s Charter for a Circle on its campus.

ODK is the nation’s oldest honor society that recognizes leadership. It is a prestigious member of the Honor Society Caucus. The other three members of the Caucus are Phi Kappa Phi (America’s oldest and most selective multidisciplinary collegiate honor society), Phi Beta Kappa (America’s most prestigious academic honor society), and Sigma Xi (America’s most prestigious scientific research honor society).

To be inducted into ODK, students must demonstrate strong academic performance and must be nominated for demonstrated leadership in one of the five pillars recognized by ODK: Academics & Research, Athletics, Fine Arts, Communications, and Government & Service. The students selected for induction into the inaugural class of our ODK Circle have attained a GPA of 3.5 or greater and were nominated for their leadership under one of the five pillars of ODK. Dr. Van Horn recognized each inductee along with the pillar of leadership they represent.

Under the Pillar of Academics & Research: Henrik Timgren, Matthew George, Emma Hambrick, Hannah Behner, James Mardell, and Susanne Moore

Under the Pillar of Athletics: John Surowiec, Jillian Dixon, Christian Schach, Albert Wallace, and Meghna Mallath

Under the Pillar of Fine Arts: Adriana Mucia, Rex DiPietro, Karah Shea, Chris Say, and Abram Miller, and Emma Pullium

Under the Pillar of Communications: Robert Ferebee, McKayla Milam, Katelyn D’Ambrosio, Rebekah Hubley, Adelynn White, Abigail Hill, and Rebecca Baker

Under the Pillar of Government & Service: Cassidy Campbell, William Jones, Ryann Haly, Kristen Trice, and Lily Buxton

The College will also induct three faculty members and two administrators into ODK. These individuals have demonstrated excellence in leadership in one of the pillars of ODK and were nominated by a peer.

Under the Pillar of Academics & Research: Dr. Jason Pierce, Dr. Linda Jones

Under the Pillar of Athletics: Jennifer Rushton

Under the Pillar of Fine Arts: Dr. Keith DeFoor

Under the Pillar of Communications: Dr. Jennifer Hallett

Congratulations to these students, faculty, and staff on their honorable induction into Omicron Delta Kappa.


About Young Harris College

Young Harris College is a private baccalaureate and master’s degree-granting institution located in the beautiful mountains of North Georgia. Founded in 1886 and historically affiliated with The United Methodist Church, Young Harris College educates, inspires, and empowers students through an education that purposefully integrates the liberal arts and professional studies. The College has four academic divisions: Fine Arts; Humanities; Mathematics, Science, and Technology; and Professional Studies. Approximately 1,400 students are enrolled in its undergraduate, Early College, and MAT programs. The College is an active member of the NCAA Division II and remains a fierce competitor. For more information, visit