Skip to content

YOUNG HARRIS, Ga. – Young Harris College President Dr. Drew Van Horn was recently appointed by Governor Brian Kemp to the Board of Commissioners for the Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission. The Board is comprised of 11 members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. The members are appointed for three-year terms of office and may serve two terms consecutively. The Commission includes a member appointed to represent each of the following: a degree-granting institution, a nondegree-granting institution, and an exempt institution. Van Horn will serve as Chairman Representing an Exempt Institution.

“I am honored to serve on a commission that works to insure that Georgians have the opportunity to seek the education and training that will improve their lives from reputable and sustainable institutions and organizations,” said Van Horn about his election.

YHC congratulates Dr. Van Horn on this great accomplishment.

Click here to read more.

About Young Harris College
Young Harris College is a private baccalaureate and master’s degree-granting institution located in the beautiful mountains of North Georgia. Founded in 1886 and historically affiliated with The United Methodist Church, Young Harris College educates, inspires, and empowers students through an education that purposefully integrates the liberal arts and professional studies. The College has four academic divisions: Fine Arts; Humanities; Mathematics, Science, and Technology; and Professional Studies. Approximately 1,400 students are enrolled in its residential, Early College, and MAT programs. The College is an active member of the NCAA Division II and remains a fierce competitor in the prestigious Peach Belt Conference. For more information, visit