Skip to content

Media Contact: Maddy Elledge
(706) 379-5319, [email protected]

Young Harris College Hosts 12th Annual Clay Dotson Open
YHC Announces Tournament Winners and Thanks Sponsors

YOUNG HARRIS, Ga. – The 12th annual Clay Dotson Open golf tournament was recently held on May 15 at Brasstown Valley Resort. With 140 players, the tournament raised $95,000 to benefit student scholarship at Young Harris College.

Players enjoyed morning and afternoon flights followed by an awards ceremony. Prizes for the tournament were awarded as follows:

Morning Flight:

Flight 1 Winner: Kurt Momand, Christie Blaurock, Candler Kimsey, Brett Butler
Flight 2 Winner: Clay Dotson, Gene Clopton, Sam Wilson
Flight 1 Second Place: Brian Mundy, Lawrence McNab, Mark Vaughn, Matt Gutierez
Flight 2 Second Place: Jim Stewart, Greg Norton, Tim Holcomb, Mark Mitton
Flight 1 Third Place: Jason Smith, Justin Bramlett, Bo Wright, David Hand
Flight 2 Third Place: Greg Davis, Wayne Davis, Wesley Reed, Adam Kirk

Afternoon Flight:

Flight 1 Winner: Matt Stearsman, Anna Claire Knight, Michael Kimsey, Barrett Elkins
Flight 2 Winner: Jo Greco, Brian Karlowicz, Knox Jolly, Jackson Kane
Flight 1 Second Place: Ben Huckaby, Josh Barheim, Carter Huckaby, Saajan Patel
Flight 2 Second Place: Greg Wilson, Steve Rouse, Scott Nunn, Steve Nunn
Flight 1 Third Place: Randy Dunn, Wade Benson, Pete Herrmann, Richard Otts
Flight 2 Third Place: Marvin McArthur, Chris Lintner

Alumni Team Challenge Winners: Larry Kimsey, Michael Kimsey, Jimmy Stewart, Jerome Burch

Longest Drive: Casey Conrad (morning flight), Chris Robbins (afternoon flight)

Closest to the Pin: Tim Holcomb (morning flight), Michael Kimsey (afternoon flight)

“I am thankful for my scholarship because I would not be able to attend YHC without it,” junior education major Meghan McQuade, of Hayesville, N.C., said. “The support of the local community has allowed me to get a great education close to home and to grow as an individual.” The students, faculty, staff and administration of Young Harris College extend thanks to the generous sponsors of the 2017 Clay Dotson Open:

Brasstown Valley Resort
United Community Bank
Follett Higher Education Group
Padgett Group
Thomas Forkner, ’37
AmeriGas Propane
Batchelor & Kimball, Inc.
Brailsford & Dunlavey
Choate Construction Company
ML Industries, Inc.
Albert E. Harrison Foundation, Inc.
Blue Ridge Mountain EMC
EntryPoint Doors of Atlanta
Kurt Momand, ’77, and Heather Momand Brunone, ’08
Lord, Aeck & Sargent Architecture
Mary Broadrick & John Moffitt
Montag & Caldwell, Inc.
Northwestern Benefit
Rick’s Rental
Warren Averett CPAs and Advisors
A & A Auto Rental of Blairsville
Advanced Digital Cable, Inc.
Advanced Disposal Services
Amy, ’76, and Rep. Buddy Carter, ‘77
Anderson Financial Services
Andrew, Hammock & Powell, Inc.
Appalachian Water, Inc.
ArtBytes, Inc.
Bennett Graphics
Blue Moon Printing
Brantley Barrow, ’74
Charlotte “Sparky” McCloskey, ‘64
Control Concepts, LLC
Cornerstone Management, Inc.
Cox & Son Roofing, Inc.
Custom Home Painting
Don A. Harp, Jr., ’61
Don Wade Tree Service
Duplicating Products, Inc.
Georgia Florida United Methodist FCU
Gloria Gwen Walker, ‘63
Gooch Trucking Co, Inc.
Granddaddy Mimms
Grizzle Grading & Excavating, Inc.
Hampton Well Drilling
Holiday Inn Express, Hiawassee
Jim Johnston, Jr., ’70
Restoration ATL
Men on the Move
Ministries of Grace, Inc.
Mountain Graphics
Amy and Henry M. Huckaby, ’62
Shirley and Richard W. McGinnis
Myers McRae
Nantahala Bank & Trust Co.
Nelsons Tractor Co.
New South Construction
Parker Oil Co.
Park Sterling Bank
Paul Beckham, ’63
SAFEbuilt Inc.
Signs Fast
Skyline Advanced Technology Services
Stephanie W. McConnell, PC
Sundance Gallery, LLC
Towns Co. Lions Club
Tri-States Utility Products, Inc.
Union General Hospital, Inc.
VMDO Architects, PC
William F. “Bill” Roberts, ’52
Fieldstone Resort
Jacky Jones Chevrolet

For more information about the Clay Dotson Open, contact Director of Development and Corporate Relations Mark Dotson, ’88, at (706) 379-5355 or [email protected].

YHC President Cathy Cox and Dr. Clay Dotson present the Afternoon Flight 2 Winner award to (left to right) Kurt Momand, Candler Kimsey, Christie Blaurock and Brett Butler.

YHC President Cathy Cox presents the Morning Flight 2 Winner award to (left to right) Gene Clopton, Dr. Clay Dotson and Sam Wilson.

YHC President Cathy Cox and Dr. Clay Dotson present the Afternoon Flight 1 Winner award to (left to right) Michael Kimsey, Matt Stearsman, Anna Claire Knight and Barrett Elkins.

YHC President Cathy Cox and Dr. Clay Dotson present the Afternoon Flight 2 Winner award to (left to right) Jackson Kane, Brian Karlowicz, Knox Jolly and Jo Greco.

About Young Harris College
Young Harris College is a private, baccalaureate degree-granting college located in the beautiful mountains of North Georgia. Founded in 1886 and historically affiliated with The United Methodist Church, Young Harris College educates, inspires and empowers students through the highest quality liberal arts education. The College currently has more than 1,100 students across five divisions—Education, Fine Arts, Humanities, Mathematics and Science, and Social and Behavioral Sciences. The historic campus in Young Harris, Ga., has completed major campus improvements to accommodate the College’s growth. Recent LEED-certified campus improvements include the 121,000-square-foot Rollins Campus Center, new residence facilities, and a 57,000-square-foot recreation and fitness center. The College is an active member of NCAA Division II and remains a fierce competitor in the prestigious Peach Belt Conference. YHC is among fewer than 300 colleges and universities nationwide named to the 2016-2017 list of Colleges of Distinction and is listed as a “Best National Liberal Arts College” by U.S. News & World Report. For more information, visit