Skip to content

Media Contact: Maddy Elledge
(706) 379-5319, [email protected]

Young Harris College Recognizes Students, Faculty and Staff at 2017 Honors Ceremony

YOUNG HARRIS, Ga. – Young Harris College hosted the 2017 Honors Ceremony on April 23 in Recreation and Fitness Center on the YHC campus. Many faculty, staff and students were recognized for their achievements during the annual ceremony.

Exemplary Teaching Award
Dr. Chris Sass

The Vulcan Award for Teaching Excellence
Dr. Joseph Pate

Who’s Who in American Universities & Colleges
Natalie Andric
Ethan Barrett
Mark Bell
Morgan Bilicki
Taylor Bilicki
Jordan Bishop
Sheldon Clark
Clint Coleman
Chloe Cook
Johnathan Denton
Jessica Dubose
Austin Dyer
Jakob Elliot
Will Ellison
Eric Fancher
Gabrielle Gentry
Chelsi George
Christa Hamill
Allison Hearn
Brandon Helton
Kadie Hudgins
Lauren James
Katelyn Jett
Thomas Johnson
Kristina Kauffman
Jessica Kirby
Steffan Lucarelli
Olivia Madden
Cody Mashburn
Grace Mason
Amber Matthews
Kayla McElveen
William Moody
Whitney Moore
Margaret Morales
Emily Nix
Zachary Odom
Jenna Penland
Connor Pitman
Andrew Postell
Michelle Queen
Kelsey Rose
James Rowe
Alexander Schneider
Parker Sewell
Collin Sheffield
Adam Shelp
Brittney Sizemore
Mallory Skolds
Walt Sorrow
Kevin Sosa
Kayla Taylor
Ramin Varnhorn
Shannon Wade
Nicole Wasko
Andie Weaver
Jeremy Webb
Rebecca Wylie

Luke Rushton, ’42, Scholar Athlete Award
Gabrielle Coumes

Outstanding Junior Scholar Athlete Award
Brianna Bell

Outstanding Sophomore Athlete Award
Anna Elin Pedersen

Outstanding Freshman Scholar Athlete Award
Hannah Walker

Honors Program Graduate Recognition
Raul Aranda
Mark Bell
Seth Black
Sheldon Clark
Chloe Cook
Jakob Elliott
Eric Fancher
Katelyn Jett
Thomas Johnson
Olivia Madden
Cody Mashburn
Kayla McEleevan
Adam Shelp
Mallory Skolds
Shannon Wade
Abigail Walker
Chris Yenney

Excellence in Foundational Studies Award
Idriya Moore

Outstanding Early Childhood Teacher Candidate Award
Gabrielle Gentry

Outstanding Middle Grades Teacher Candidate Award
Kelsey Rose

Richard Aunspaugh Award for Visual Art
Ashley Pontrelli

Birdie Bryan Miller Art Award
Taylor Posey

Lynn Fowler Music Scholarship
Michelle Queen

Edwin Gerschefski Piano Scholarship
Kate Snell

William H. & Mary Ann Fox Music Scholarship
Jacob Wood

ProMusica Camerta Scholarship 
Alyssa Olvera

CNAfME Award
Ashley Brannon

Ronnie Milsap, ’64, Music Scholarship
Idriya Moore
Tyler Redmond

Outstanding Company Member: Theatre Performance Award
Hannah Johnson

Outstanding Company Member: Design & Technology Award
Tyler Todd

Outstanding Company Member: Musical Theatre Award
Sarah McTyre

William Bryon King, ’35, Award in English
Leigh Ann Turner

Outstanding Paper: Upper-Division English Course
Morgan Bilicki

Outstanding Junior English Award
Taylor Bilicki

Outstanding Senior English Award
Mikala Jones
Frank Easterlin

Outstanding Senior in Creative Writing
Sarah Boudreau

Outstanding Junior in Creative Writing
Rachael Courtney Esco

Donna T. Fortune Achievement Award in Foreign Language
Monica Ramirez-Leon

Lambda Pi Eta Outstanding Scholar Award
Maggie Sproston

Rhetorica Tutor Award
Samantha Jones

John Cobb, Jr. Award for an Outstanding Paper
Alex Lemus-Gomez
Cody Mashburn

The John Kay Award for Excellence in Comparative Religious Studies
Brandon Helton
Emily Todd

Outstanding Biology Senior Academic Award
James Rowe
Mallory Skolds

Outstanding Biology Senior Research Award
Ethan Barrett
Kristina Kauffman

Erasmus Grier Fowler Mathematics Award
Reeves Bell

Freshman Mathematics Award
Mackenzie Melton

Eugene Barboza Scholarship Award
Yolanda Evans

Joseph Wilson Boone, ’31, History Award
Jason Edwards

Outstanding Graduate in Business and Public Policy
Kayla Taylor

Paul D. Coverdell Award
Sam Gatson

Hilda McCurdy Memorial Scholarship
Robin Lucio

Ezra Sellers Award
Stan Anderson

SPAT Scholarship Award
Joe Milner

SGA Awards
Faculty Award – Dr. Claudie Massicotte
Staff Award – Kelsey Dillard and Jaclyn Kernohan
Member Award – Stephanie Stanton

College Representative of the Year Award
Andrew Sudderth

S.T.A.R. of the Year Award
Zoelle Reinke

Greek Service Awards
Fraternity – Kappa Sigma
Sorority – Sigma Beta Sigma

Greek Academic Awards
Fraternity – Kappa Sigma
Sorority – Phi Alpha Phi

Advisor of the Year Award
Rev. Blair Tolbert

CAB Member of the Year Award
Faith Bridges
Jessica Kirby
Justin Redmond
Melissa Wall

Outstanding Organization of the Year Award
Underground Bible Study

Senior Award
James Rowe

Christian Service Award
The Chapel Ministry Team

Interfaith Award
Melissa Wall
Emily Todd

IRC Appreciation Award
Kelsey Dillard

Corn Creek Review: Literary Awards
First Place Prose – Eric Fancher
Second Place Prose – Sarah Boudreau
Third Place Prose – Natalee Diehl
First Place Poetry – Rachael Cortney Esco
Second Place Poetry – Taylor Bilicki
Third Place Poetry – Alejandro Lemus-Gomez

About Young Harris College
Young Harris College is a private, baccalaureate degree-granting college located in the beautiful mountains of North Georgia. Founded in 1886 and historically affiliated with The United Methodist Church, Young Harris College educates, inspires and empowers students through the highest quality liberal arts education. The College currently has more than 1,100 students across five divisions—Education, Fine Arts, Humanities, Mathematics and Science, and Social and Behavioral Sciences. The historic campus in Young Harris, Ga., has completed major campus improvements to accommodate the College’s growth. Recent LEED-certified campus improvements include the 121,000-square-foot Rollins Campus Center, new residence facilities, and a 57,000-square-foot recreation and fitness center. The College is an active member of NCAA Division II and remains a fierce competitor in the prestigious Peach Belt Conference. YHC is among fewer than 300 colleges and universities nationwide named to the 2016-2017 list of Colleges of Distinction and is listed as a “Best National Liberal Arts College” by U.S. News & World Report. For more information, visit