You are here

Title IX

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex, including sexual harassment and sexual violence, in any educational programs and activities of educational institutions that receive federal funding. YHC students and employees are covered by Title IX.

View the Young Harris College Sexual Misconduct Policy.

If you believe you may be subject to sexual harassment, sexual violence or any form of sexual discrimination, the following administrators and faculty are available to respond to general concerns or questions or to address specific complaints.

Click here to obtain information and resources regarding reporting sexual assault or sexual misconduct. If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact any on- or off-campus resources for further information.

Click here for employee responsibilities regarding Title IX.

HUMAN RESOURCES
Vincent Robelotto, Human Resources Director
(706) 379-5272, vrobelotto@yhc.edu

TITLE IX COORDINATORS
Dr. Laura Whitaker-Lea, Vice President of Student Development and Title IX Coordinator
(706) 379-5170, ldwhitakerlea@yhc.edu

Anna Strickland, Finance and Operations Coordinator and Assistant Title IX Coordinator
(706) 379-5276, ahstrickland@yhc.edu

Ryan Reinhart, Director of Residence Life
(706) 379-5300, rcreinhart@yhc.edu

Jennifer Rushton, Director of Athletics
(706) 379-5107, jlrushton@yhc.edu

Marti Slaughter, Director of Student Disability Resources
(706) 379-5042, mslaughter@yhc.edu

COUNSELING
Susan Murphy, Counselor
(706) 379-5160, samurphy@yhc.edu

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, and the federal regulations adopted under the act, prohibit sex discrimination in the employment setting. The regulations define sexual harassment in the workplace as a distinct type of employment discrimination on the basis of sex. In 1980, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) issued guidelines defining sexual harassment and stipulating that sexual harassment in the workplace is a violation of Title VII. Employee vs. employee complaints are handled by the Human Resources Office via the provisions of Title VII.